Skip to content
May 8, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

You are my Sunshine (Award)

sunshine-award1

I love sunshine and I love awards so I’m extra specially excited to get nominated for the Sunshine Award by Nina from Words That Flow Like Water. Please check out her blog, it’s full of inspirational writing. Thanks very much Nina, it made a boring day at the office much more bearable and it felt like a big squishy virtual hug 🙂

For the Sunshine award: Here are the rules:

Include the award’s logo in a post or on your Blog (see above ;-)).
Link to the person who nominated you.
Answer 10 questions about yourself (I made up my own, I hope that’s right!)
Nominate 10 Bloggers (See below).
Link your nominees to the post and comment on their Blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.

So in case you are wondering here’s some facts about me:

1. Savoury or Sweet?
Definitely savoury. Don’t get me wrong I would be sad if cupcakes and chocolate became extinct but I don’t feel like life would be worth living without cheese.

2. What is your favourite film genre?
Comedy – after all who doesn’t like to smile!

3. What would be the theme tune to your life?
For when I’m happy – Sunshine, lollipops and Rainbows by Lesley Gore and for when I’m sad – Everybody Hurts by R.E.M (There is a slight chance I may have a split personality)

4. Books or computers?
As much as I do like computers it would be books all the way, although I would miss the internet and Tetris.

5. What is the strangest book you have ever read?
hmmmmmmm there’s actually quite a few – Cold Earth by Sarah Moss was pretty strange, nothing really seemed to happen but at the same time it sticks in my mind.

6. What is your motto?
If in doubt, sit down – it’s worked so far.

7. Do you have any advice for life?
Live peacefully, read as much as possible, don’t buy a house with a broken boiler, love endlessly, eat as many potatoes as you can and try not to be too hard on yourself (also learn how to take your own advice).

8. How many seconds can you stand on your head for?
Probably not many anymore, I used to be pretty good but that was when I looked more like a bean pole than a tin of beans. I’ll try – 0 seconds

9. Which fictional character would you like to meet and why?
Sirius Black so I could warn him and stroke Buckbeak.

10. What is the most embarrassing thing you have ever done?
Lately – tried to stand on my head. In the past – Did the classic of chatting to a guy and then going to the toilet only to emerge with my tights tucked in to my skirt and my pants on show to the world. Luckily, as i was walking off, my best friend ran up behind me and yanked it out without the guy even noticing. That’s what friends are for!

My nominees are:

1. Cider With Rosie

2. Karlee’s Blog

3. Falling through the World

4. Pretty Books

5. Fancy Little Talk

6. Travels with Mary

7. Girl on the Contrary

8. The Accidental Cootchie Mama

9. A confederacy of Spinsters

10. Annie Cardi

Thanks guys for inspiring me and making me laugh every day x

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jill London / May 8 2013 7:09 am

    Congratulations, Lydia!! And well deserved, your blog is a lovely bit of sunshine (but then I think you had me at fluffy kitten! 😉 (see About Me section!)) Well done!

    • ljbradburn / May 8 2013 3:26 pm

      Thanks very much! I’m really glad you enjoy my blog 🙂 hehe, he does come in handy for charming other bloggers I must say 😉 x

  2. karleegould / May 8 2013 8:31 am

    aw! this is s so cute!

    • ljbradburn / May 8 2013 3:28 pm

      Berry cute isn’t it 🙂 like you! x

      • karleegould / May 8 2013 3:52 pm

        Berry berry cute! thanks for nominating me ^_^

  3. prettybooks / May 8 2013 1:21 pm

    Hehe, I like your motto! Thank you for the nomination!

    • ljbradburn / May 8 2013 3:28 pm

      hehe! Thanks, it has always served me well 😉 You’re welcome, it’s very much deserved! x

  4. Grace / May 8 2013 4:55 pm

    Thank you so much for the nomination! You rock! Also, I think eating as many potatoes as you can is the best life advice I’ve ever heard. I am so very Team Potato!

    • ljbradburn / May 9 2013 9:14 am

      hehe! You’re very welcome, it’s deserved! I think you rock too and now I really want a tshirt with Team Potato on it! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The One Where You Spank Me | The Accidental Cootchie Mama

Leave a comment

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chrismartinwrites

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT BRINDLEY

surmising with aplomb and nary remorse

Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

Musings and books from a grunty overthinker

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

John Lee Taggart

Writer, Filmmaker, & Procrastinator

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Awareness

Awareness. It's not so much about making others aware of our mental health issue, than it is about you yourself becoming aware of your issues and taking control.

Shannon A. Thompson

Author. Speaker. Librarian.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Dream. Imagine. Explore.

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

Multi award-winning beer writer and author

"Hope is the only thing stronger than fear" Suzanne Collins

“You chose us. Now we have to choose you.” Veronica Roth

Young Adult Book Madness

YA & NA Book Reviews