Skip to content
May 6, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

If you are in the mood for…

…LOVE read –
One day by David Nicholls, The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, Love Birds by Trevor Silvester, P.S I love You by Celia Ahern.

…LAUGHTER read –
God’s behaving badly by Marie Phillips, Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes, Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding, High Fidelity by Nick Hornby, Dead Famous by Ben Elton

…SHOCK read –
We need to talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver

…VAMPIRES read –
The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer (or just watch Buffy because they are the real vampires lets face it ;-))

…HORROR read –
Say Cheese and Die or The Girl who cried Monster by R.L Stine (fine I haven’t read horror since I was young!)

…COMFORT read –
The Time of My Life by Celia Ahern, Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes, The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

…A CLASSIC read –
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, Mansfield Park by Jane Austen

…INTRIGUE read –
Cold Earth by Sarah Moss, The End of Mr Y by Scarlett Thomas, Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

…CRYING read –
Never Let me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, Beloved by Toni Morrison, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce. Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks.

…MAGIC read –
Harry Potter by J.K Rowling, Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan

…A CULTURE SHOCK read –
Empress Orchid by Anchee Min, Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys, Slave Girl by Buchi Emecheta.

…INSPIRATION read –
I capture the Castle by Dodie Smith, This is all by Aidan Chambers, The Five People you Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom, Falling Through The World by Rachel Clarke.

…CONTEMPLATING THE WORST/POSSIBLE read –
The Hunger Games by Susanne Collins, Matched by Ally Condie, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood, The Uglies by Scott Westerfield, The Running Man by Stephen King (under pseudonym Richard Bachman) 1984 By George Orwell, Animal Farm by George Orwell, Fahrenheit 251 by Ray Bradbury

…MYSTERY read –
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, The Moonstone by Wilkie Colllins, Blood Ties by Sam Hayes, Surfacing by Margaret Atwood

…REVISTING (MY) CHILDHOOD read –
The Twins at Malory Towers by Enid Blighton, Are you there God? It’s me Margaret by Judy Blume, St Clare’s by Enid Blighton, The Wreck of the Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo, Blubber by Judy Blume, The Baby-sitters Club by Ann M. Martin.

…POETRY read –
William Wordsworth, Philip Larkin

…SOMETHING DIFFERENT read –
Entangled by Graham Hancock, Books of Ice and Fire by George R.R Martin, Sacred Country by Rose Tremain, Our Tragic Universe by Scarlett Thomas

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. SunsetPink / May 30 2013 3:49 pm

    Funny, I read most of the books you list here! As for the ones I did not… well, I just added them to my “must-read” list. I can’t wait for the holidays, this list is getting way too long!

    The Lovely Bones is so heartbreaking, I couldn’t stop crying. (Did you watch the movie? I made the mistake to do so. Cried my heart out.)

    And, I would add the “Weird” category, with Gathering Blue or Messenger, by Lois Lowry. It really is weird, but worth reading!

    • ljbradburn / Jun 13 2013 10:42 pm

      Yeah, I know the feeling, I have so much to read I think I may need to take a week off work to catch up! 😉 oooo I will definately check them out, thanks for the recommendations 🙂

      I have seen the film. I thought it was so sad and beautiful and I loved the way it was shot xxx

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

