Skip to content
August 6, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Knighting people – Bouquet of 3

bestmomentawardversatilebloggerawardsunshine-blog-award

Thanks to the lovely Lauren and Clare at Wake up your luck for this nomination. Please check out their blog, it is interesting and fresh and they are both very nice people to have as blog friends 🙂

I love these awards (and not just because I like talking about myself I swear!) but because I use them as an opportunity to go on a blog hunt to find some new blogs to follow and share the love with.

So the rules are as follows:

1. As the recipient of the award you have to share 7 things about yourself with the blogosphere.

2. Link back to the post of the person who nominated you (in this case it will be me).

3. Copy and Paste the Award logos into your new post.

2. To pass on the award you then nominate 15 bloggers (This bit is sort of like knighting someone)

3. You should let all the lovely bloggers know that they have been nominated so they can claim their virtual reward.

So, if I haven’t already bored you enough with my countless blog posts here are some more facts about me

1. My dream is to become an author but I’m scared that I’m not good enough so I have written my first paragraph, which I am happy with, but now I don’t want to carry on in case I ruin it.

2. When we were little, my brother and I used to sit on the roof of our garage (where we were most definitely not allowed to be), writing down number plates and pretending we were spies.

3. I like to watch the Beatrix Potter film when I’m ill.

4. I genuinely do want World Peace and I hate war with a passion.

5. I want a house with a library in it but I would just settle for living in a library.

6. I secretly really enjoy the makeover reveal moments in chick flicks and have always imagined my own such moment.

7. I don’t like being alone (which complicates going to the toilet ;-))

My nominees are a mixture of blogs I have just discovered and some of my old favourites, (don’t forget there is absolutely no obligation to pass the award on you are more than welcome just to enjoy your knighthood and know that I think you are all awesome):

The Biggest Smile

100 Classics Challenge

World of Blyton

Lazylauramaisy

Storytimewithbuffy

Starlight Book Reviews

Asha’s Blog

love. laugh. read

Book Rhapsody

Calmgrove

Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

A view from my summerhouse

Total Book Addict

Tales from the bookworm’s lair

The Book Lover’s Boudoir

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thebiggestsmile / Aug 6 2013 10:54 am

    Wow thank you very much for nominating me for this award, I’m very humbled and thrilled you like my blog. So, am I right in thinking that the next step is to share 7 things about myself? I’m new to the blogosphere and am not always sure how things work!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 6 2013 12:27 pm

      You are very welcome, it is very much deserved. Yep, you got it, just copy the award logos on to your post and stick the rules at the top and then 7 things and your nominations which you link 🙂 I’m glad you like it, it’s nice to share the love 🙂 x

      • ljbradburn / Aug 6 2013 12:33 pm

        I’ve added a couple of other bits that I forgot to the rules so hopefully should be a bit clearer now 🙂 x

  2. thebiggestsmile / Aug 6 2013 12:15 pm

    I’m intrigued to hear more about point 7. ;-P

  3. classicbookreader / Aug 6 2013 12:37 pm

    Thank you so much for nominating me.

    • ljbradburn / Aug 6 2013 12:42 pm

      You are very welcome! You deserve it, you have a great blog 🙂

  4. Terri / Aug 6 2013 3:01 pm

    Hi, thanks so much for nominating me! I’d also love a library room in my home. Maybe one day!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 6 2013 7:47 pm

      Fingers crossed that we will both get the library of our dreams 🙂 You’re very welcome, it is well deserved x

  5. Lesley Dawson / Aug 6 2013 8:05 pm

    Lydia, after writing the first paragraph, you must continue! Don’t aim for perfection – just write. Get it down on paper or on the screen and the perfection comes with editing. As for going to the toilet alone … ah well, we dog owners don’t need to worry about that! 😀

    • ljbradburn / Aug 6 2013 9:26 pm

      Thank you, I will try. I keep thinking that I need to have a perfect idea of how it will all go before I start writing but that has meant I have written next to nothing so will definitely give it another go. Thanks for your encouragement 🙂 haha, that is very true! Even my cat likes the odd trip to the loo with me too, unless there is something more interesting going on of course 😉 x

  6. beckyday6 / Aug 6 2013 9:15 pm

    Haha I love number 2!! That’s so awesome, we get up to strange things as kids don’t we?

    Thank you for the nomination. 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 6 2013 9:24 pm

      You’re very welcome, I love your blog and think your writing is great so it is very much deserved! I tried to put a comment on your blog telling you about the award but don’t think it worked, as it didn’t seem to want me to press post, so glad you have seen it! Yep, we do indeed, those sorts of things always seem so normal and logical when you are a kid 😉 x

      • beckyday6 / Aug 6 2013 9:34 pm

        Nope I didn’t get a comment, the silly blog must have been messing around, sorry! Lol. I can definitely sympathise with commenting issues, I had a few a while back. 🙂 I’m glad to have seen it too, and I’m so glad you like my blog! Also I just added you on Goodreads. 🙂

        Haha one weird thing I did when I was younger was to throw scissors at the wall….I wanted to be Buffy the Vampire Slayer! A bit extreme but there ya go. 😛

      • ljbradburn / Aug 7 2013 10:13 am

        Yeah, it is being a bit erratic, sometimes it let’s me post but not attach links, weird! Haha! That is brilliant, dangerous but brilliant! I bet your parents didn’t thank you for that though 😉 I wanted to be like Buffy too and my brother and I used to try and whittle sticks to make stakes x

  7. bibliorex / Aug 7 2013 2:01 am

    Lydia,
    Thank you so much for the nomination and kind words! That is very sweet of you. Let me just echo the earlier comment that you should continue writing! I have written a novel and my doctoral dissertation (100k words), and the only way I was able to finish either was simply to keep going (and preferably write every day). They won’t all be perfect words, you may later delete many of them, but you can later refine your words in subsequent drafts — but only if they exist on paper in the first place! 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 7 2013 10:10 am

      You are very welcome, glad you liked it 🙂 Thank you for your advice, I will definitely keep going. No more excuses, I will write! hehe! Well done for your novel and dissertation, my degree dissertation, was only 10K! 🙂

  8. Sherri / Aug 7 2013 12:02 pm

    Hi Lydia, you are a sweetie! Thank you so much for thinking of me when sending out your nominations for this award, I do really appreciate it! I loved reading about you, you and your brother sound so much like me and mine. We used to climb up on to the top of an old, rusty barn roof and spy on the farmers in the fields! Not that there was much to see other than them hard at work of course, but we found it great fun! I would also agree with all the comments about your writing…just do it and you will be amazed at what you end up with and as Lesley says, the editing part will take care of the rest! Have a lovely day and thanks again 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 8 2013 9:32 am

      You are so welcome, I’m glad you like it 🙂 Thank you, every one has been so encouraging about my writing! Arrr cute, sounds like you guys had a lot of fun together, I think there is something special about a brother-sister bond, I have very fond memories of our childhood together (when we weren’t beating each other up that is) and now we’re great friends 🙂 Happy Thursday! x

      • Sherri / Aug 8 2013 10:58 am

        Yes, we are great friends now too and always will be. I love my bruv to bits, a friendship and love forged in the fire of naughtiness and misbehaviour, as well as the odd fist fight or two!! My own grown children are also now great friends which makes my heart sing! Happy Thursday to you too Lydia 🙂 x

  9. Sherri / Aug 7 2013 4:34 pm

    Oh, and right back at you Lydia – I’ve nominated you for the Inner Peace Award, but no work required. Just my way of saying ‘thanks’! Enjoy 🙂 http://sherrimatthewsblog.com/2013/08/07/inner-peace-award/

    • ljbradburn / Aug 8 2013 9:34 am

      Thank you very much! This is a perfect award for a hippy like me 🙂 x

      • Sherri / Aug 8 2013 10:58 am

        You are so very welcome and deserving…enjoy 🙂 x

  10. WorldofBlyton / Aug 7 2013 9:05 pm

    Thank you so much for our “Knighthood”, very touched and excited to recieve it!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 8 2013 9:28 am

      You are more than welcome, thanks for sharing your great blog with me 🙂 x

  11. Asha / Aug 10 2013 9:06 am

    Wow! This is absolutely awesumm!!
    Congratulations, Lydia. And thank you for mentioning me on your blog. Thats a true honor.
    Have a crazy weekend!!

Trackbacks

  1. Knighting people – Bouquet of 3 | The Biggest Smile

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

