Skip to content
April 17, 2016 / ljbradburn-Smith

The Woman Who Stole My Life

the woman who stole my life

After starting a new job 6 months ago, as a Nanny, I experienced something recently that I have not experienced before – going abroad for work. As I packed for a weeklong trip with my work-family, to Spain, I knew that I’d need some good reading material to get me through the quiet times (when I would normally have been annoying my husband) and keep me company when I was feeling homesick. And who better for the job, I thought, than Marian Keyes herself.

The Woman Who Stole My Life is the story of Stella Sweeny, a one-time accidental author, who, after a year spent in New York touring her full-of-promise self-help book, has arrived back home to Ireland, with her tail between her (only slightly bigger than when she left) legs. Stella’s desperate attempts to conquer writer’s block, give up her beloved Jaffa Cakes and forget about the people she left in New York are just a few of her daily battles.  As Stella’s story, leading up to and after the publishing of her novel, unfolds, the reader learns why exactly it is that she ignores her phone calls and has a self-imposed Google block on a certain someone’s name.

The thing I love most about Marian Keyes’s writing is her ability to create such relatable characters, who pretty much always end up feeling like lifelong friends. Her characters suffer from very real problems, with heartbreak, depression, long-term illness, addiction and self image issues all featuring in her novels, yet I never fail to feel comforted by Keyes’s humour and the hope that she inevitably delivers to her readers, as we see her protagonists come out of the other side. I would never describe her books as depressing, despite the fact that the struggles she portrays are sometimes more real to me than I would like to dwell upon.  It would be impossible to when she writes with such understanding, wit and warmth.

Whilst I wouldn’t say that this was my favourite Keyes novel, because to be honest nothing can beat the Walsh family series of novels for me, I will say that it delivered just the book cuddle that I was looking for on those lonely Spanish nights. So Marian, thank you for coming along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

