Skip to content
December 22, 2014 / ljbradburn-Smith

Cosy Christmas

ch
I have long suspected that I am slightly strange for being someone who get really excited when it gets cold and dark earlier and we all have to stay inside all the time. I don’t hate summer, I love camping, being outside and reading under trees but for me nothing can quite compare to the feeling of excitement I start to get around mid-October when Christmas feels as though it is just a moment away.

Although I’m pretty much immune to the festive-season haters and Scrooges who moan about Christmas decorations being out too early, now that it is December 22nd absolutely no-one can argue with me that Christmas isn’t just around the corner. Tomorrow is the day before Christmas eve and then the day after that, well……

So in honour of my favourite day of the year and my Uncle’s and Jesus’s birthdays I thought I’d share my favourite Christmas traditions with you lovely lot:

– Christmas Eve stories with my family – everyone has to be there and everyone has to listen – this one is a tradition that no-one can

– Hot chocolate – with marshmallows and Nutella

– Being able to drink Buck’s Fizz at breakfast time and not feel guilty

– Three Christmas dinners over two days – one at Ben’s parents’ house, one at my Dad’s and one at my Mum’s – some people say broken home, I say THREE Christmas dinners!

– Our annual walk around the Christmas market in Winchester at night – they leave the lights on and it is the cosiest thing imaginable

– Christmas Pyjamas – This is one I decided on this year, from now on I will have a new pair of  pjs each year to wear on Christmas Eve

– Stockings with Ben – Finding a man who likes Christmas stockings as much as I do means Christmas stockings every year – thanks Santa

– Rocky’s present – I know he doesn’t know/care/acknowledge his presents most of the time but I like to pretend he is secretly ridiculously excited and grateful for his tine of tuna and new scratching post

– Zombies – our traditional Christmas day board game.

But the thing I love more than anything else, at Christmas, is spending time with the important people in my life – my family, my friends and my Ben – all off work and all much happier because of it. Happy Nearly Christmas everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

          writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

