Skip to content
October 31, 2014 / ljbradburn-Smith

All Hallow’s Read

stock-footage-happy-halloween-background-animation-with-moon

Finally it is Halloween and I have never been so excited. In my teenage years Halloween would mainly consist of trying to convince my Mum to let me go out dressed as a sexy devil and get drunk but now Ben and I usually just get cosy in our pajamas and watch a horror film from the comfort of our sofa, where we can screech to our hearts’ content (and take joint trips to the toilet to protect each other without anyone else laughing).

But this Halloween was always destined to be different thanks to Neil Gaiman and his All Hallow’s Read initiative (which was actually started in 2010 so I am a little late to the party). Never one to pass up the opportunity of spreading the world about my beloved books I made a deal with Ben – I would point out a few options for books which would be great for him to gift to me, on the scariest night of the year, and in return I would choose one for him. I also threw in a big bar of chocolate as an extra sweetener (I think we all know who won there).

For my gift books I purchased two shiny new copies of the first in the 4-part novel series, dedicated to the character ‘The Governor’, in The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman. I chose The Rise of The Governor because Ben and I only recently discovered the awesomeness that is the The Walking Dead TV Series and have obsessively devoured every single episode to date (If you haven’t watched it start now). I can sometimes be wary of books that are made on the back on TV Series, however, as the original creator of the comic book series and the TV series, I figured that Robert Kirkman is already a force to be reckoned with so why not give his novel a chance.

So the first of these terrifying treats will of course be going to my zombie loving other half (yes, that’s right, I did also buy it so that I could borrow it afterwards) but the second I really had to think about because I wanted it to go to someone who wouldn’t normally read a novel, scary or not. So I choose to give this book to my Step-dad Steve, which is extremely fitting as he and my Mum introduced us to The Walking Dead. Steve is one of the cleverest people I know and is usually far too busy teaching, learning French or reading non-fiction books that are so intellectual that it would probably give me heart palpitations trying to get past the first page, so I thought that he could do with a bit of lighthearted Zombie fun. If not I know my Mum will read it so it definitely won’t go unloved.

So tell me, fellow bloggers, who will your scary book be going to this Halloween?

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

