Skip to content
October 24, 2014 / ljbradburn-Smith

10 Scary Books

My own first experience of reading horror books dates back to the days when Goosebumps were the most popular books around and could be found on pretty much every self-respecting, young book lovers shelf. I vividly remember sitting in bed reading Say Cheese and Die and being unable to put it down because the fear that was gripping me was making it impossible for me to stop turning the pages. Once I (ahem) grew up a bit more I made the very grown up decision to leave Goosebumps behind and move on to Point Horror. I can’t remember what the first Point Horror book I read was called but I do remember it had a spooky house on the cover embossed in a lurid orange.

Thinking back I could have perhaps waited a little bit longer and stayed in the comparatively safe realm of Goosebumps because my very first Point Horror book terrified me. I remember reading it before bed and being so scared that the only thing I could think to do was run downstairs, where my unsuspecting parents were trying to watch tv, across the room and put the book right down the back on the sofa cushions so it was as far away from me as I thought humanly possible. That was where it stayed for another two weeks until I felt brave enough to retrieve it from sofa safety.

So in honour of the fast approaching Halloween and because I am really excited to be taking part in Neil Gaiman’s All Hallows Read this year here are the Top 10 scary books which I am not sure that I want to read:

it1. IT by Stephen King – I’ve seen the film and that was scary. I’ve heard the book is even scarier.

house of leaves

2. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – described as a claustrophobic haunted house story this is bound to scare me because if there is anything that could scare me more than being trapped in a claustrophobic space it would be being trapped in a haunted claustrophobic space.

exo

3. The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty- again film scary, book I’d imagine even scarier.

amity

4. The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson – apparently a true story = scary

wicked

5. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury – Carnivals are fantastic settings for creepy happenings and I feel that this one would be no exception.

haunted

6. Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk – This novel appears to both scare and disgust in equal measures, through graphic violence and the human capacity for cruelty which it depicts. Even the front cover freaks me out a bit. Actually I really don’t want to read this one.

dead

7. The Walking Dead: Rise Of the Governor by Robert Kirkman – My new obsession is The Walking Dead TV Series. Ben and I went from not watching it at all to having watched all of the series available in about a month. The Governor is a particularly intriguing character, with unclear motivations, so I imagine this book to have a psychological element which would make for some creepy reading.

pet

8. Pet Sematary by Stephen King – Why shouldn’t pets be the subject of a horror? Probably because they are meant to be cute and fluffy.

dies

9. John Dies At the End by David Wong – a comedic horror – if there is anything that will make you feel better about being scared half to death it is finding it funny, right?

legend

10. I am Legend by Richard Matheson – hailed as being “influential in the development of the zombie genre” this surely has to be a good read.

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

