Skip to content
June 27, 2014 / ljbradburn-Smith

10 Books I’m going to Re-read

There are so many new books that I want to read. My own bookshelf holds just a fraction of the wonderful worlds that I want to immerse myself in (preferably on a window seat in a French château but I’m not fussy). That being said there are also many fictional places I am desperate to revisit, books which I believe hold, for me, previously undiscovered wonders and will be relevant to my life now in different ways to when I first read them. Here are just a few:

 

st clares

1. The Twins at St Clare’s

 by Enid Blyton – I just want to remember how it felt to imagine eating a midnight feast before I was allowed to stay up past 9:30pm, even if they did always eat weird canned food like sardines and condensed milk.

of my life

2. The Time Of My Life

by Cecelia Ahern – Despite the fact that it hasn’t been long since I first read this, I feel that new things have happened in my life and I could do with a reminder about living each moment to the fullest.

crown

3. The Silver Crown

by Robert C O’Brien – A childhood favourite of mine which has haunted my memory for years and deserves another read. I remember details from this book in a way that I rarely do normally.

time travellers wife

4. The Time Traveller’s Wife

by Audrey Niffenegger – because. Just because.

dark

5.  His Dark Materials

by Philip Pullman – I was lucky enough to meet Philip Pullman and get my copy of The Amber Spyglass signed but it was so long after I had read the first two that I wanted to read them again before I started The Amber Spyglass. I still haven’t re-read Northern Lights and The Subtle Knife and I still haven’t read my precious signed copy. Shameful.

lord

6.  Lord of The Flies

by William Golding – There are certain books I think everyone should read and not just because I had to read them in school. This is one of them.

dead

7. Dead Famous

by Ben Elton – One of my Dad’s favourite authors. I bought this for him for a father’s day and then read it myself after he had (I let him read it first though which I think was kind of me). It has been long enough now since I read it that I have conveniently forgotten the murderer (although I somehow suspect society is the true culprit) so I think it is over due for another read. It combines satire and big brother. What’s not to like?

masf

8. Mansfield Park

The second Jane Austen novel that I read, whilst in University, and the one that made me truly fall in love with Austen.

hand

9. The Handmaid’s Tale

by Margaret Atwood – I read this book at University and I loved it. In the way that you can love a book which makes you fear for the future of humanity.

the Night Circus

10.  The Night Circus

by Erin Morgenstern – because it is possibly the most beautiful, magically explosive and imaginative book I have ever read and I never want to forget its vividness.

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Elaine Jeremiah / Jun 27 2014 2:15 pm

    Great selection of books you’ve got there and fascinating to read your reasons for wanting to reread them. Some of them I’ve read, others I haven’t but they all look interesting. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Jun 30 2014 12:22 pm

      No problem, thanks for commenting 🙂 There are so many more that I would love to re-read, I might have to repeat this post at some point! x

  2. Elaine Jeremiah / Jun 27 2014 2:16 pm

    I just saw that you live in Hampshire – I grew up in Eastleigh! Small world 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Jun 30 2014 12:23 pm

      Yep, I live in Alton now and used to live in Winchester – so even closer to Eastleigh! Small world indeed, we are obviously meant to be blog-friends 😉 x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

