Skip to content
December 25, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Last

Every Christmas as my family and I reach the end of our annual present opening massacre ceremony and our minds have started the inevitable “is it acceptable to have chocolate for breakfast” debate (it is by the way) we are always faced with the same dilemma. It happens every year so why we never see it coming, and attempt to stop it, I will never know.

It always lurks towards the back of the tree, almost out of sight but not quite. Teasing us.

The last unopened present with no label on it, near it or under it.

I’ve seen it happen a million times (well 20ish), everyone eyes it but no-one claims it. I always get a bit mad at this poor lone present. I can’t help feeling like it purposely shed its label in a bid to appear mysterious and elusive. I don’t want it because I know that even if I open it and it looks like it could be for me I will never know for sure and I just can’t cope with the guilt (I mean what kind of lowlife takes another person’s Christmas present?) but I do want it to be opened so I can go on with my Christmas day watching Eastenders and eating chocolate. Christmas is for drinking not thinking! 😉

After about an hour, when I am on the edge of a nervous breakdown, I usually force my younger sister to open it so she has to live with the guilt. She doesn’t seem to mind.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. wakeupyourluck / Dec 26 2013 10:40 am

    I had chocolate for breakfast today as well, because I am going to consider Boxing Day as an extension of Christmas. Hope you had a wonderful day!

  2. ljbradburn / Dec 26 2013 10:49 am

    Hehe! I think that sounds fair to me, in fact judging by how much chocolate I got for Christmas I think i’m going to have to extend it into next month! Thanks very much, it was lovely 🙂 Hope you and your family had a great one too x

  3. psychologistmimi / Dec 31 2013 4:24 pm

    I say anything goes for breakfast! very cute post. happy 2014!

    • ljbradburn / Jan 3 2014 3:56 pm

      That’s a good rule to live by 🙂 Thank you, you too! 🙂 x

    • ljbradburn / Jan 19 2014 9:24 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Happy New Year! x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

