Skip to content
December 3, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

10 books on my Christmas List

I have recently discovered the wonders of installing a universal wishlist. Over the last couple of weeks I have been merrily clicking away on everything I see things I would like and, as i’m sure you can imagine, a fair few of the things I like are books. Here are 10 of the books on my Christmas list:

1. Cold Comfort Farm By Stella Gibbons

2. Divine Misfortune by A. Lee Martinez

3.  Diary of a Single Mormon Female by Aleesa Sutton

4. The Humans by Matt Haig

5. The Great Gatsby by Scott F. Fitzgerald

6. How To Fall in Love by Celia Ahern

7. The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

9. Raven Girl by Audrey Niffenegger

10. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

What’s on your Christmas list?

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mira / Dec 3 2013 3:05 pm

    I haven’t even heard of so many of the books in your list. There are so many books out there. And it’s so hard to choose what to read, given that our time is so limited. Right now I’m enjoying a book on Leonard Cohen, his biography written by Sylvie Simmons. I’m also reading one of his books, The Favorite Game.
    I start many books at once and some I don’t get to finish but these two I will 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Dec 4 2013 4:52 pm

      Since I discovered goodreads I have come across so many books that I didn’t know existed! It’s great 🙂 I know what you mean about time, it’s one of the things that excites me though because I know that it is impossible for me to run out of books for as long as I live 🙂

  2. Sherri / Dec 3 2013 4:40 pm

    I’m quite interested in The Luminaries but I’ve not heard of any others on your list Lydia, to my shame ;-(
    (oh, apart from The Great Gatsby of course! Still have to see the film but that’s because I have a huge crush on Leonardo di Caprio 😉 )

    • ljbradburn / Dec 16 2013 2:40 pm

      hehe, of course, I think that is an acceptable reason to see any film 😉 Goodreads and other book blogs are my source of info. If I didn’t have them I wouldn’t have heard of most of these either! 🙂 x

  3. Christine / Dec 4 2013 3:16 am

    Bah, I haven’t even started my Christmas wish list!

    I hope you get at least The Great Gatsby and The Book Thief, though, both of them are really good! 😀

    • ljbradburn / Dec 4 2013 4:50 pm

      Hehe, thank you! I have been asking family who ask what I want for Christmas for book vouchers so this should really be called my “to buy myself in January” list. I can’t believe that I still haven’t read The Great Gatsby, I have a feeling that I will love it 🙂 Hope you get plenty of lovely new books too x

      • Christine / Dec 4 2013 5:54 pm

        *Laughs* Any money earmarked for books is always well spent 😀

        I read The Great Gatsby for school, otherwise I will admit I’m not sure I would have read it – at least not until I heard word of the Leo DiCaprio movie version 😉

        Thanks, I’m sure I will – my to read/buy list is very, very long…. XD

  4. wakeupyourluck / Dec 12 2013 10:16 pm

    The Humans is AMAZING!

    • ljbradburn / Dec 16 2013 2:39 pm

      I have heard very good things, I can’t wait to read it. Definitely one of the ones on my list I am most excited about reading! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

