Skip to content
October 8, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Tea drinkers are L.A.Z.Y

As surprising as it may be considering my English-ness I don’t like tea at all and I promise that this isn’t some sick joke, I wouldn’t mess with you like that.

Until a few years ago, I had only regularly made hot drinks for my parents and the only thing they like is black coffee, easy! I had, on occasion, attempted to make my friends tea before, not realising how everyone has their own ideas about the right amount of milk, squeezidge and brewing time and whilst most of them were polite and just sipped their sub-standard tea, my best friend decided that she needed to teach me the way of tea-making properly. When I got a job in the same office that she worked in this became even more urgent as tea making, it turns out, is much more of a serious business than I had ever realised and I needed to become a master of it so my new colleagues wouldn’t reject me.

(If this post was a film this would be the part when the training montage would cut in to show me brewing and sweating and Karlee tasting until it was perfect. I imagine the song to be something epic like ‘We are the champions’).

So to cut a long story short my first week in the office, I dipped, I brewed, I squeezed (I even pleaded with the tea to be nice) and my hard work paid off as I watched my three new colleagues genuinely enjoy their tea. Now, 3 years on, I still apparently make the best cup of tea, out of everyone, in the office, even though I am the only one who doesn’t drink it (not for Karlee’s lack of trying).

I have come to the conclusion that this is because after a while regular tea makers equal lazy tea makers. Tea holds no mystery or fear for them because they have practically grown up drinking it and make it every day, so they can be a bit ‘bish bash bosh’ with it, whereas I am constantly worried that it won’t be good enough so I always take my time and put in the hard miles. No slacking or cutting corners for me, the fear of rejection keeps me fresh. Clearly all I needed was the motivation of wanting to be a useful part of the office gang and a best friend that always sees my true potential.

Come to think of it I’m not much of a fan of crumpets either.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. storytimewithbuffy / Oct 9 2013 5:58 am

    I love tea, but I refuse to participate in tea rounds at work. I think I drink more than my colleagues. Also, I usually only drink herbal tea (unless I need a caffeine injection) which pretty much requires plopping a tea bag into a mug and adding water.

    I like that you agonise over it so much! Tea rounds are serious business at work!

    • ljbradburn / Oct 24 2013 12:20 pm

      That sounds like my kind of tea making, much simpler! Maybe I can ween the ladies, in the office, on to herbal tea. Wish me luck 😉 x

  2. Sherri / Oct 9 2013 10:48 am

    Not liking Tea? OR crumpets? Oh Lydia. What on earth will you eat and drink while sitting on your window seat while reading? I am an extremely lazy tea drinker as I drink several cups a day, ahh nectar of the gods. I simply couldn’t live without my cup of tea. But I sure wish I had worked with you! What a lovely tea maker you are. You can come over and make me a cuppa anytime you like 😉 xx
    PS love this post and the way you write 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Oct 24 2013 12:18 pm

      Thanks Sherri, you are always too sweet to me 🙂 I will make you a cuppa anytime you like! Although I wouldn’t wish where I work on anyone 😉 I think i’ll have to go with a muffin and a hot chocolate/diet coke for my window seat sessions 😉 x

      • Sherri / Oct 25 2013 5:22 pm

        🙂 x

  3. thebiggestsmile / Oct 13 2013 10:07 am

    I loved the montage bit. I keep seeing my life in terms of a film, it’s quite disturbing, nice to see someone else does it!

    I’ve only recently started drinking tea, green tea at that. Only because it’s healthy, I don’t actually enjoy the taste. Taste wise, I’m about 6, I like apple juice.

    • ljbradburn / Oct 24 2013 12:16 pm

      I love apple juice! I’m the same, the only hot drink I like is hot chocolate and I always feel childish asking for that, if someone offers me a drink at their house, so I usually just go for something cold!

      I am always imagining i’m in music videos too, especially when I’m in the car for some reason! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

