Skip to content
September 23, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Book-ing a holiday?

You might have guessed by now that I love books. Well I also love holidays and festivals. With this in mind I can’t think of anything much better than the two combined. Here are some literature destinations that are going on my “to visit” list:

1. Cheltenham Literature Festival – This is quite local to me and I have a lot of family in Cheltenham so I’m not sure why I haven’t been to this before, next year will be the year

2. Edinburgh Book Festival – Another famous festival which I would love to go to. I have heard good things.

3. The Reading Room – Devon – These retreat courses look brilliant. If only i could bring my cat!

4. Book Therapy – Not strictly a holiday but something that I happened upon whilst looking up reading retreats and had to share. The school of Life  offer several services to help us get our lives in order, with the most interesting (to me) being Bibliotherapy where you can have a face to face or phone consultation with a trained  bibliotherapist who will discuss your literary needs/wants and, based on where you are in your life and what they think you need, provide you with a book prescription! Now that is my kind of medicine. I have my very own bibliotherapist, who I also call mum, so I don’t think I will be  using this service but it is a fun idea and maybe something that would be ideal to do if you are considering a getaway with just you and your books.

5. Hay-on-wye – the land of second-hand book shops. I imagine it to be book-smelling heaven!

The only thing is, in order to repay me for sharing this with you, I’m afraid, if you do go to any of the above places/events, you have to take me with you. Deal!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherri / Sep 23 2013 8:49 am

    All of these sound fascinating but sad to say I’ve only heard of the book festival as Hay-on-wye. Would love to go there and all the above, particularly The Reading Room in Devon, not too far from us, which sounds wonderful, and when you said about bringing your cat I immediately thought about the cat cafes they have in Japan. Have you heard about them? Apparantley you read and have tea whilst mingling with lots and lots of cats! Doesn’t that sound amazing? (My daughter told me about it!)
    I have definitely never heard of ‘bibliotherapy’! Your mum is definitely the best choice 😉
    Oh, and Lydia, I will be sure to look you up if I ever do visit any of these places, kitty and all. That’s a deal 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Sep 27 2013 12:47 pm

      Wow, that sounds amazing! Who do the cats belong to I wonder? i haven’t been to any of these places yet but I am going to make it my mission to go to them. The Devon one sounds lovely doesn’t it. So relaxing and cozy! I have also always wanted to rent a cottage for a week and go on my own little book mini break. I think I would have to take Ben though so I didn’t get too scared at night 😉 Thank you, i’ll look forward to it 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

