Skip to content
September 18, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

10 ThInGs ThAt ScArE mE:

1. Peacocks – I think I got chased by one when I was younger. If not I am just a bit of a wimp but either way I don’t like these birds much and I think they know more than they are letting on.

2. Helium – Not so much a fear as a worry about embarrassing myself. I try to avoid any helium-sucking fun going on around me as I am scared that it won’t work on me and my voice will come out normal when I attempt a funny rendition of “We’re off to see the Wizard…” I’m not sure what it is about my normal voice that scares me in this situation but it does.

3. Small Spaces – You should have seen my face when Buffy the Vampire Slayer got buried alive, not cool!

4.Insanity – I suppose this fear is a bit strange. I worry that I will go insane and not care about anything but I guess if that happened I wouldn’t care. Welcome to my mind.

5.  Book Drought – Although I am pretty sure that there will always be books around what if there just isn’t? What if they are all stolen, all the authors get writer’s block or books are banned forever?

6. Wind Farms – are unnatural and spiky. I have no problem with what the wind farms do, just they way they do it so scarily!

7. Book worms – since I discovered these are in fact real and not a horrible made-up story to stop children from neglecting their books, or a cute nickname for one, such as myself, I have been a little bit afraid that they will come and invade my house and eat all my books.

8. Death – not so much my own but that of the people I love. I used to be incredibly scared of both but I have come to terms with the fact that, after I die, I’m sure I will be fine wherever I am. It’s just the missing people I can’t stand the thought of.

9. Running out of things to say – This is probably not a fear for those around me. In fact I think it might be something they hope for, but without my words I’m not sure what I’d do – perhaps no-one would want to be with me and I’d be alone! I also worry that I won’t be able to write and one day I will run out of ideas or interesting things to say (if you think that has already happened please keep it to yourself so that number 4 doesn’t occur).

10. Freezing to death – some might say that this is an unreasonable fear. I say that it is not only reasonable but very probable working in my office.

Oh and I hate Snakes because they have plans (which are to eat people).

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. wakeupyourluck / Sep 18 2013 7:31 pm

    Oh my God. Book worms are a thing? I think I’ll pretend I never learned that…

    • ljbradburn / Sep 18 2013 8:41 pm

      Unfortunately yes 😦 Sad times! You are definately best off pretending you never heard that, sorry! 😉 x

  2. Lesley Dawson / Sep 18 2013 8:45 pm

    Hi Lydia. There’s a very old house near to us and the owners keep peacocks. It’s quite eerie to hear them calling out just as dusk falls … but I love the sound they make. If you had been chased by one as a child, that would explain your fear. I think there is also quite a lot of superstition surrounding them. As for snakes, I used to have a fear of them then one day, an animal sanctuary was having a display … in a shopping centre of all places. There was a man there with a snake draped round his shoulders. I still felt fear, but also fascination. I managed to stroke the snake. It was lovely with beautiful eyes.

    • ljbradburn / Sep 19 2013 12:27 pm

      ooo I got a tingle right down my spine when I read the bit about the peacocks calling out. I bet it is haunted and there are loads of peacock ghosts there too! Double scary 😉 That’s very brave of you to stroke a snake (I wrote snail first time – not very scary at all!) x

  3. Sherri / Sep 18 2013 9:05 pm

    Three of the things here jump out at me…peacocks, wind farms and snakes (love what you said at the end, so funny!). So I know what you mean 😉

    • ljbradburn / Sep 19 2013 12:33 pm

      Horrible aren’t they? 😦 I would hate it if any of those things actually jumped out at me! 😉 x

  4. deshipley / Sep 18 2013 9:42 pm

    7 — Yeah, I’m going to try to pretend I never heard that, too.
    9 — I’ve also sometimes feared I’d run out of ideas to write. But I think my death by number 10 may be more likely. (I get cold rather easily, and gosh knows I’ve been stuck in places like your office before…)

    • ljbradburn / Sep 19 2013 12:32 pm

      hehe! Good idea, maybe I should remove number 7, it does cause quite a lot of distress if you think about it too much 😉 I get cold really easily too, everyone else seems to be boiling and i’m sitting there with gloves on trying to type! 🙂 x

  5. indiereadergirl0329 / Sep 20 2013 7:09 pm

    The book drought sounds awful. I don’t even want to think about it. No books, at all? No, can’t happen.

    -indiereadergirl0329
    indiewritergirl0329.wordpress.com

    • ljbradburn / Sep 27 2013 12:49 pm

      I agree. Perhaps we should start hiding a secret stash of books away just in case 😉

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

