Skip to content
September 16, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Harry rocked my World

After three looong weeks, I have just about recovered from the grief of returning to work, after an amazing holiday, and I feel that I can now write about it without crying because I’m here (a not-so exciting office) and not there anymore! It was my first trip to America and I wanted to achieve 6 things whilst I was there:

1. Go to Harry Potter World.

2. Eat a plane meal – just because I love them.

3. Have someone tell me to “have a nice day” and then to have a really awesomely nice day.

4. For someone to exclaim “I love your accent!”

5. To eat more food than I have ever eaten before. Ever. Ever ever.

6. Get a chance to read by the pool, in the shade.

Here’s how I got on:

1. I went, I saw, I loved! Harry Potter World is amazing and Universal have captured the magic of the Wizarding World really well, right down to the snow topped buildings in Hogsmeade. hpIt was also my first experience of the amazing new-ish simulator rides, which if you haven’t been on one yet, have moved on from sitting in a weird spaceship thing and watching a screen whilst you move around a bit and are now an amazing experience, with giant screens that surround you. Even the queue, for the ride, which took you through the castle was great and the holograms of the actors made it come alive. I went to Harry Potter World not once but twice and you will be pleased to know that I have now added, to my HP collection, a new wand, a jar of Honeyduke’s sweets, a feather quill (this was a must), a writing set, 4 glasses – one for each house, postcards, a Quibbler and……..wait for it……my very own sorting hat! I can’t help shouting “Gryffindor” every time I walk past it. Sorting hat

2. I had sausage and mash on the way to America and a chicken dinner on the way back and contrary to popular opinion I really liked them. Not only because they tasted quite nice but also because they were just so goddamn cute. Tiny packets of cheese + a mini ice-cream = a happy aeroplane passenger. 993984_10151842401930590_1054763872_n(They even made me feel a tiny bit better about the sweaty man who insisted in putting his bum in my face every half an hour).

3. Day number 1, the lovely lady in Publix told me to have a “nice day” and I did. Tick.

4. This is something I did not manage to achieve 😦 Ben said it is because I don’t have a nice accent. I said he was mean.

5. My scales will be more than happy to confirm, for you all, that I achieved this aim. America is peanut butter heaven and I made it my mission to try everything I saw. And then there were the chocolate frogs…

chocolate frog

6. I shade-bathed to my heart’s content. I finished My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time and started Pride and Prejudice and Two Caravans because I couldn’t choose between them

poolNext year I would like to go to the moon 🙂

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. wakeupyourluck / Sep 16 2013 7:50 pm

    I would love to go to Harry Potter World – going to the studio tour on Friday!

    Sounds like a fantastic trip!

    • ljbradburn / Sep 18 2013 8:43 pm

      Oooo have fun! I went there in January and it is brilliant, you’ll love it 🙂 Make sure you try a chocolate frog x

  2. Jeyna Grace / Sep 17 2013 2:27 am

    It sounded amazing alright!

    • ljbradburn / Sep 18 2013 8:51 pm

      It was amazing, I can’t wait to go back some day. After all someone still needs to love my accent! 😉

  3. indiereadergirl0329 / Sep 17 2013 2:31 am

    I loved the wizarding world of Harry Potter. I am going there for the second time in November, part of my birthday trip to Orlando. I hope you loved your trip to America. How long were you in the US for?

    And, of course, how was My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time? I have heard good things about it and love the title.

    -indiereadergirl0329
    indiewritergirl0329.wordpress.com

    • ljbradburn / Sep 18 2013 8:50 pm

      I did love America! I was there for 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip. I found the no roundabouts thing weird though! I’m glad I wasn’t driving on our holiday 😉 I hope I get to go to HP World again, it’s amazing isn’t it? Say hi to Harry from me 😉

      My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time is great. I am now in love with Liz Jenson and looking forward to reading more of her stuff, apparently all of her novels are really different! Hope you enjoy it, let me know what you think 🙂 x

  4. Sherri / Sep 17 2013 9:57 am

    Sounds like you had an amazing time Lydia, and welcome back, even though I know you would rather still be on holiday 😦
    We went to the Warner Brothers Harry Potter Studio Tour in London last April and absolutely loved it. It was my daughter’s Christmas present. I bet the one you went to (Florida?) is amazing. So glad you got to achieve almost everything on your list!

    • ljbradburn / Sep 18 2013 8:57 pm

      Thanks Sherri 🙂 I’m getting used to being home now and I must admit, as great as it was, I did miss our little kitty!

      I went to the studio tour earlier this year and thought it was great. The Florida one is a very different experience because you get to go in the shops and castle so it’s like you are really there where as the studio tour is all the stuff from the films which I found mega interesting being a Harry Potter geek. So they are both great in different ways! x

      • Sherri / Sep 18 2013 9:32 pm

        Aww, yes, your sweet kitty 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

