Skip to content
August 29, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

The diamond debacle

At the start of this week I got back from a two-week holiday to Florida. Before I went I thought I should be a dutiful blogger and write a few advance posts to come out whilst I was away. This one was due to come out last week on Thursday:

Remember when I said that I didn’t want to be one of those girls but that I accidentally was? Well, since then I have tried really sort-of hard not to talk about shiny things and where in particular I would like them to reside (diamond, on a ring on my finger in case you are still in any doubt) but the other day Ben and I were just passing a lovely diamond shop and I we thought we would have a quick look. All went well, we saw diamonds, I didn’t cry because I don’t have one and then we left. Then we had the following conversation:

Ben: I think a big diamond would be really annoying actually.

Me: No woman has ever said that. Ever.

Ben: Well it would catch on your clothes and I know how much you love your clothes so wouldn’t you just be really sad if that happened and they were ruined? Also if I bought you a big diamond we wouldn’t have enough money to replace your clothes.

Me: I think I would manage to console myself with my giant diamond

Nice try Ben, I’m not falling for that one!

So off I went on holiday thinking I had done enough to ensure that the blogosphere wouldn’t forget me completely, in my absence, then, just before the post was due to come out, Ben went ahead and ruined it, by proposing! That’s right I am now a fiance. I just thought I would share this with you in case you were wondering where I was for most of last week, no other shiny, happy reason at all 😉

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lesley Dawson / Aug 29 2013 7:55 am

    Congratulations, Lydia and Ben! I hope you still manage to write all your fab blog posts despite the weight of a huge diamond on your finger. 😀

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 12:59 pm

      Thank you 🙂 haha don’t you worry nothing can stop me from writing, even if I have to use a finger crane to prevent me from getting finger strain 😉 x

  2. Sherri / Aug 29 2013 1:06 pm

    How wonderful Lydia, how exciting and many congratulations to you and Ben!
    I will just say though, It is so annoying isn’t it when things you had planned so well end up getting messed up like that 😉
    PS love Lesley’s comment above!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:01 pm

      Thanks 🙂 I know, it’s a pain isn’t it, can always rely on the lovely Ben to sabotage my plans 😉 x

  3. storytimewithbuffy / Aug 29 2013 3:08 pm

    Wow, congratulations! His reasoning was really well thought out. I haven’t heard that excuse before.

    Also, Ben is a great name. I have one too. 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:02 pm

      Thanks very much 🙂 I hadn’t heard it either, he can certainly be quite inventive with his excuses but of course I forgive him everything now 😉 arrr is your Ben a plan-ruiner too? 😉 x

  4. SunsetPink / Aug 30 2013 9:59 pm

    Congratulations!! It’s wonderful news, I wish you two the best~!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:04 pm

      Thank you very much 🙂 That’s really sweet of you, i’m sure you will hear all about it on my blog, can’t seem to help myself from talking about it allll the time at the moment! x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

