Skip to content
August 27, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time.

Liz Jenson

I’m not adverse to a bit of sweet talk so I certainly didn’t mind being referred to as ‘my dearest darling reader’ and ‘beloved one’. If only all my books were as flattering I would probably feel much better about myself!

Liz Jensen’s protagonist, Froken Charlotte, a 25-year old from 1890’s Denmark, is a woman of rather interesting means. Her opportunistic nature sees her taking up a cleaning job for the unusual and highly strung Fru Krak, where, amidst whisperings of demonic machines and ghosts, she uncovers rather more than she could have fathomed, as her world collides with the 21st century. Charlotte finds herself stranded in a place and time where coming to terms with mobile technology and ‘horseless black carriages of iron’ are the least of her adventures.

Jenson’s masterpiece is so deliciously conspiratorial in tone that you can’t fail to be won over by this book. With her charming protagonist, Charlotte, unashamedly romping her way through the novel and conducting herself with the utmost disgrace it is not one to be missed.  Jensen proves herself extremely adept at creating interesting, funny characters who evolve throughout the course of her novel, Charlotte’s transformation from harlot to sweetheart will leave you smitten with Jensen’s storytelling.

A modern classic (in more ways than one) that would have Austen blushing at its audacity. I bloody love this book and so will you!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hernan J Monzon / Aug 27 2013 1:25 pm

    Definitely sounds interesting!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:09 pm

      Very! You should give it a read 🙂 x

  2. indiereadergirl0329 / Aug 28 2013 3:39 am

    I liked your review. This book sounds interesting. The title alone, I love. I enjoy picking up books based on their titles. It’s hard not to.

    I shall add this to my list.

    Happy reading!

    -indiereadergirl

    indiewritergirl0329.wordpress.com

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:05 pm

      yeah me too, I love an intriguing title and this one makes the book sound naughty and fun, which it is! Hope you enjoy 🙂 x

  3. Pauline / Aug 28 2013 9:07 am

    This seems really good, I’ll have to add it to my list. I love Copenhagen so if that’s where it takes place I’m even more inclined to read it!

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:08 pm

      ooo cool, you should enjoy it even more then, I didn’t know a lot about Copenhagen so was I was interested to find out a bit more. Let me know what you think! Happy reading 🙂 x

  4. Sherri / Aug 28 2013 10:58 am

    Lydia, your enthusiasm for what sounds like a delightful little treasure of a book, shines through and is captivating! Based on your review, this book sounds fascinating and one which I simply must read, thank you 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 31 2013 1:06 pm

      Thanks very much 🙂 I hope you enjoy it, let me know what you think 🙂 I can’t wait to read some of her other books, apparently they are all quite different but all brilliant x

Trackbacks

  1. Get your read on… | My Feather Quill

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

