Skip to content
August 19, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

The 10 Booky Commandments

10-commandments

Thou shalt worship as many books as thy’s heart desires

Thou shalt not make carvings out of books but thou may make a book shrine with a very comfortable cushion in it.

Thou shalt not insult a book without reading it first.

Remember to read at least once a day, every day, even if it is thy’s shampoo bottle.

Honour thy Father and thy Mother’s book recommendations (if thy has parents like mine they are bound to be good).

Thou shalt not scribble on books (unless thy is too young to know any better or is in university and the scribblings are insightful)

Thou shalt not be limited to one book at a time.

Thou shalt only borrow from the library and friends and not from book shops (thy will pay for these ones) and shall eventually return all books even if it takes years to read them.

Thou shalt only lie about reading a book if absolutely necessary to get out of trouble at school/college/uni/book club.

Thou shalt freely covet thy neighbour’s bookcases, reading chair and novels all thou likes but shalt not be weird about it.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sherri / Aug 19 2013 11:25 am

    I love this Lydia, very clever and very funny! My eldest son (now 30, yikes, how did that happen??) has been an avid book reader all his life and sounds just like you! He was reminding me recently how he used to get in trouble at school for…wait for it…reading too much! He would also like to read at the table but I would have to ask him to put his book down just while we had dinner so that we could have that all-important-dinner-table-conversation!! Think he has just about forgiven me now 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 27 2013 6:34 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Haha, I used to read at the table too! Nothing quite like a good book and a yummy dinner, two of my favourite things 🙂 I can’t believe he got in trouble at school for that, I think that they should have encouraged him and let him sit in the comfy corner and read rather than going to lessons 😉 x

  2. Lesley Dawson / Aug 19 2013 11:29 am

    Oh Lydia, this is so funny! If I could double-like it, I would. 🙂 Goodness help me if I followed my dad’s book recommendations – I would be an expert on the technicalities of how Albert Pierrepoint carried out his hangings and of every serial killer that ever lived! My mum was into philosophical subjects that were way above me. I’ve started off my reading for the day because I studied the ingredient list of mine biscuit packet. Commandment no. 2 has brought to mind my ideas for making a comfortable book/reading shrine, which I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. I love this post, Lydia – a good start to my day. 😀

    • ljbradburn / Aug 27 2013 6:30 pm

      Thanks very much 🙂 I have often wished there was a double-like button for people’s posts too, maybe we could invent one! Haha, well from the sounds of it, following your dad’s recommendations may mean that you could pursue a career as a detective if you wanted 😉 oooo let me know how you get on with your book shrine xxx

  3. Gray Dawster / Aug 26 2013 3:28 pm

    Nicely written Lydia…
    I hope that you are enjoying
    a lovely Monday 🙂

    Andro xx

    • ljbradburn / Aug 27 2013 6:21 pm

      Thanks very much 🙂 Most of Monday was spent recovering from jetlag and wishing I was still on holiday but it was nice all the same 🙂 x

    • ljbradburn / Sep 1 2013 1:15 am

      🙂

  4. jdominique37 / Aug 28 2013 7:13 pm

    Yes, indeed! Rules everyone booklover should follow. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The 10 Booky Commandments | indiereadergirl0329

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

