Skip to content
August 1, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Issues

cat easter egg

 

I think I have issues. That’s not true – I know I have issues.

I have always hated being alone but my need to be loved was particularly highlighted to me when I got Rocky the cat. Now don’t get me wrong, I do know that cats are their own people (animals?) but what I didn’t realise was, despite knowing this fact, quite how much I would crave love from my cat and how I would do anything to try to get him to pay attention to me.

Since the lovely, aloof Rocky has joined our twosome I have suffered from jealously (I convinced myself he loved Ben more and started to ask Ben at the end of the day how many love headbutts Rocky had given him, how many times he had purred near him and, most importantly, how many times he had sat on his lap without prompting.)

I have tried to buy his love – he is the proud owner of a food maze, a luxury bed, a light up ball toy, a lazer and a tower which includes a hammock and a bed at the bottom which I put an extra blanket in because it just wasn’t soft enough.

I have resorted to bribing him for love – the only trick I have successfully taught him is to kiss/touch noses with me for treats. And I accidentally, but frequently, find myself joining in, in conversations about motherhood, with people who actually have children. That means I am comparing Rocky to an actual human child. In front of their parents.

 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Story Reading Ape / Aug 2 2013 9:32 am

    Lydia, you are very brave to share this, but don’t worry too much, there are a lot of pet owners who think, feel and talk the same way 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 8 2013 9:44 am

      hehe thanks, i’m glad i’m not the only one 😉

  2. Lesley Dawson / Aug 2 2013 9:50 am

    Lol Lydia! You asking your partner how many love headbutts, etc. Rocky had given him made me chuckle. Rocky, being a cat, is an expert at playing the two of you off each other. It happens in most families. 😀 I don’t think your ‘issues’ are that bad – love from whatever source is a necessary thing … and everyone knows that cats are that bit special.

  3. Gray Dawster / Aug 2 2013 8:12 pm

    You’re doing well at creeping around your cat but have you tried giving him some Webbox chewing sticks, they come in all flavours and my cat adores them, give them a try and he will be your best friend, I guarantee it 🙂 lol

    Andro

    • ljbradburn / Aug 8 2013 9:47 am

      ooooo I will give them a try, anything for more love 😉

      • Gray Dawster / Aug 8 2013 8:21 pm

        It works a treat, you will see 🙂

        Andro xx

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

