Skip to content
July 22, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Top 10 Places To Read

I once read a book that started by describing how difficult it is to find the perfect reading position. Strangely I don’t remember anything else about the book at all, but those few pages made a big impact and since then I have been on the hunt for the perfect place to read and the perfect reading position. If, like me, in the pursuit to read all of the wonderful books in this world,you have battled through many a  dead arm/leg, achy neck and numb bum/other places I won’t mention and experienced the ever-growing fear that you may develop a slight hunchback, if you continue in this fashion, you may appreciate the following list of my Top 10 (sometimes imaginary) best places to read:

1. Toilet – Back support, bum support and a good excuse to sit still for a while all seem like good reading conditions to me. There is a risk of neck strain in this particular spot but I am working on inventing a toilet-powered floating book stand that sits at perfect reading height so bear with me. Despite this little setback the toilet is still one of my all-time favourite reading spots, it is so good in fact that if I do ever find myself faced with a toilet trip, without a book, I usually resort to reading shampoo bottles so as not to miss out on prime reading time.

2. Tree – A carefully selected tree with a big enough space to perch is the perfect place to read as the branches double up as elbow supports. My favourite thing to do when I was younger (and not big enough to break the poor tree) was to take my book and duvet and make a reading nest.

3. Bed – Since I have become the lucky owner of a memory foam mattress bedtime reading has become a lot more enjoyable (which is saying something because it was already amazing), instead of me trying desperately to mould to the mattress the mattress now moulds to me, win!

4. Mattress Room – this is another work in progress but is something that has always been a dream of mine. To have a room with a mattress floor and filled with the squishiest blankets made from clouds. I am confident that one day this dream will become a reality and when it does I am also confident that it will provide me with the perfect reading space because it will be impossible to be uncomfortable in it. I also have plans to project novels on to the ceiling with a voice recognition page turning system so no movement will be required. At all. (Did I mention that it will also be used as a hangover room?).

5. String Hammock – The string bit is important because it lets all your squishy bits stick out of the various holes and so creates more of a mould than the un-stringy ones. Also I like to be outside in the summer so I can shade-bathe whilst reading.

6. Hospital – not only is there not much else to do (aside from the obvious being in pain and eating grapes) they have those awesome remote control beds that can be adjusted to just the right reading position. What’s more they have trays which are just as good for propping up a book as they are for serving questionable food. (Please note that I have had leg operations so was able to do this but I do realise that having both arms in a cast would complicate this slightly).

7. Bath – I love reading in the bath and aside from the obvious danger of soggy pages (please see Health and Safety Manual for full list of book related accidents) there is nothing quite like relaxing in a warm bath with a book. There are ways to make it even better though. All you need is a bath pillow (yep they do exist!) and a clever bath caddy to hold your vodka, book and a candle and you are set. I am yet to get one of these but I will! (The other thing I would also advise is a working boiler but that is another story for another time!).

8. Car (preferably not whilst driving). Some people say it makes them sick, I say that a book is an essential travel companion.

9. The Library – give me a library with comfy chairs and you may well not see me until the next time I get hungry! Just being around several books at once and knowing how much knowledge surrounds me makes me feel a bit more intelligent before I have even started reading. I find the silence of the library so tranquil that I feel comfy and sleepy just thinking about it.

10. A window seat – One of my favourite memories is of sitting on the window seat of the villa my parents had rented, in france, reading The Wreck of the Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo. If you were to ask me to go to my special cave this is where I would go.

Where is your favourite place to read?

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kaineandrews / Jul 22 2013 8:16 am

    I’m a bathroom-reader from a long line of bathroom readers; all books of import were consumed while on the pot or in the tub. That being said, your concept of a Mattress Room is something I think I’m going to have to look into. XD

    • ljbradburn / Aug 2 2013 8:52 am

      Hehe, good luck, I’ll let you know when I finally build mine, it will happen! x

  2. Sherri / Jul 22 2013 9:58 am

    Wish I had a hammock!! Love your idea of a ‘reading nest’, I used to do the same many moons ago when I lived in rural Suffolk. Oh, the memories…great post Lydia 🙂

  3. Lesley / Jul 22 2013 11:36 am

    I love this post, Lydia! 😀 I like the idea of the string hammock so all my squishy bits can relax. I can’t read in the car as I’m one of those people who need to keep my head upright and stare into the distance to avoid car sickness – just as well it’s not me driving! As for the hospital – I read all of Jane Eyre while waiting to go to the theatre. I love the sound of your window seat in the French villa – that sounds perfect. My favourite reading place just now is the greenhouse. 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Aug 2 2013 8:51 am

      ooooo the greenhouse sounds like a great one! Especially as I hate being cold. I might have to get one and put some tropical plants in it so I can pretend I am abroad, reading on my own desert island 🙂 I love Jane Eyre, I’m glad she was your hospital friend 🙂 x

  4. calmgrove / Jul 30 2013 9:43 pm

    This list made me smile, thanks! Think I’ve tried all of these except 4 (not invented yet, obviously) and 5 (we’ve only just got an ordinary hammock and I’ve been too busy to try it out, even in the recent heatwave).

    Yes, can’t read in a moving car, even to read maps. I used to read a lot on double-decker buses, especially doing homework on the way to school when I were a nipper, but even with a bus pass it’s not something I indulge in now.

    • ljbradburn / Aug 2 2013 8:48 am

      Your comment made me smile so thank you too 🙂 Don’t worry, i’m sure it won’t be long until 4 is invented, although i’m also pretty sure that when I do manage it I will never leave so will have to make sure I win the lottery before I build it! 😉

      Haha! I used to do my homework on the way to school too, no point in wasting time the night before doing homework when I could be playing or reading something interesting! x

      • calmgrove / Aug 2 2013 7:41 pm

        Or indeed nothing interesting at all! 🙂

  5. Gray Dawster / Aug 2 2013 8:24 pm

    You certainly take your reading serious I will say that but how about reading in the Lotus Position, it is both comfortable and exciting at the same time, how do you mean why is it so exciting? Well that would be telling, oh and it’s not me doing the reading either but it’s still fun 🙂 lmao

    Andro

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

