Skip to content
July 11, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Too many books

The other day someone said to me you have too many books (they shall remain nameless in case my fellow book bloggers decide to riot outside their house and they, in turn, take revenge on some of my books – I don’t want any ink on my hands!)

Too many books? For what? Too many for my lifetime? – I’d like to hope that I will live a lot longer than two bookcases worth, half of which I have already read! I’m a pretty quick reader! Unless said person had other plans for me!

Too many  for other people to handle? – Maybe there is a disease that I don’t know about that causes people to collapse when they experience too much beauty or happiness and the sight of my lovely books could cause this!

Too many to reach the lightbulb? – I can assure that isn’t true, not that I condone standing on books!

Too many book to be fair? – What isn’t fair is taking away my true book loves or making me feel guilty about having them!

When I told Ben all this his answer was ‘calm down, I just meant that you have too many books to fit all of them in the bedroom once we move the room around, we’ll have to put a bookcase in the study’

Oh right – of course!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. SunsetPink / Jul 11 2013 7:48 am

    There isn’t such a thing as too many books! Though it can take a looooot of space in a flat, even more if there are several book-lovers… 😉 I’m always told “why don’t you borrow them?” but borrowing isn’t the same, right? 😦

    • ljbradburn / Jul 11 2013 12:05 pm

      Definately! I agree, it’s just not the same as having your own copy, even if I borrow a book I usually end up buying my own so it’s a bit pointless. Books are just too awesome and too pretty to give back to a library! 😉 x

  2. storytimewithbuffy / Jul 11 2013 9:13 am

    I like that you tried to keep him anonymous but dropped his name in the end. 🙂

    • ljbradburn / Jul 11 2013 12:06 pm

      hehe, I decided he deserved it 😉 Name and shame! x

  3. Lesley / Jul 11 2013 10:37 am

    Lol, the culprit has been named and shamed, but I can understand his reasoning for wanting to keep the bedroom a book-free zone. 😀

  4. theparasiteguy / Jul 11 2013 2:04 pm

    I suppose that “too many books” would be the first thing you said: namely, too many books to ever actually read them all. Of course, such a number is pretty much impossible, so…I guess there really is no such thing as too many books 🙂

  5. Cecilia / Aug 2 2013 3:54 pm

    Haha, I like this post. I’m also addicted to books and they are everywhere in our house. The husband of a friend of mine once said something about people who read “too much” and his wife, a book lover, said, “And what is reading “too much”?” These are good questions, and we should never be made to feel guilty about our love for books!

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

