Skip to content
July 4, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

ThE MyStErY Of ThE MaN DrAwEr

Apparently a man is not a man without a man drawer. When I realised this I quickly made Ben one and after about 10 seconds of collecting his various things, from around the house, I realised that the real reason for a man drawer is actually so that a woman, upon finding a strange plastic clip (curtain?) or a random screw (spaceship?) can put it all together in one pile of unidentifiable crap and happily go on with her life.

I considered putting a mascara in there just to confuse him but I decided against it as I thought that it might cause an actual breakdown. I’m sure that only metal and other bits of metal, with wood attached, are allowed in the man drawer. By law.

From Ben’s reaction it was as though making him a man drawer was the most romantic thing that I had ever done. Screw the dinners and love poems, he wants weird pieces of pipe!

When I asked Ben why he thought that it was important to have a man drawer he said that men need their own space. I guess that means that the rest of the house is mine to fill with puppies, vodka (for me not the puppies), books and scarfs.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. HJM / Jul 4 2013 11:51 am

    Hahaha! Absolutely love this!

    • ljbradburn / Jul 6 2013 1:44 pm

      Thanks very much for your comment! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂 x

  2. calmgrove / Jul 6 2013 3:30 pm

    The brilliant Michael McIntyre introduced me to the notion of a man drawer. My wife guffawed in recognition. I didn’t find it funny at all.

    Most men have a room dedicated to almost dead batteries and to-be-recycled-in-the-future junk. It’s called a ‘garage’ I think…

    • ljbradburn / Jul 6 2013 3:35 pm

      Haha! I can’t believe that I forgot about the garage, the biggest man drawer of them all! 😉

      • calmgrove / Jul 6 2013 3:39 pm

        Enjoying some of your other posts now. Hope your novel writing is proceeding apace too!

      • ljbradburn / Jul 8 2013 7:55 am

        Thanks 🙂 I would love to say that it is but it’s actually going very slowly at the moment. Wish me luck, I need it! 😉

      • calmgrove / Jul 8 2013 8:00 am

        Good luck!

      • ljbradburn / Jul 8 2013 8:52 am

        🙂

  3. Steve / Jul 7 2013 9:37 am

    Ah, you clearly don’t understand the concept of apportionment! I confess to never hearing of a ‘man drawer’ before now – sounds rather limited and limiting to me 😉 And as for ‘why?’ and your assumptions based on the received response – you’ve missed the whole point 😦 If I were speaking to my wife on this, it would be: ‘This is my space. That is your space. The rest, and vast majority, is OUR space.’. Of course ‘OUR space’ is eroded by the arrival of children, pets, elderly long-term visitor-relatives, and so on. If ‘OUR space’ becomes severely eroded, becoming nothing but small islands in a very stormy ocean, the value of ‘sanctuaries’ is revealed. ‘Sanctuaries’, of course, are things like garages, garden sheds and greenhouses – all of which have been quietly, craftily concealed behind an apparently impenetrable barrier of what others foolishly see as ‘just junk’, not recognising the existence of partition walls and other essential parts of any sanctuary (a sturdy lock being the most important, of course). All apportionment, with the effective size of each new portion carefully calculated to make use of no more than existing space.

    Steve 😀

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

