Skip to content
June 27, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Dear Powers That Be…

Dear Powers That Be (Buffy-style)

I would like to take this opportunity to request, on the behalf of myself and probably just about every other person out there, that we have more days off work. As you know (because you are wonderfully psychic) I have already been privately campaigning for an extra day off a week. This day shall be called duvet day and is intended to satiate my need for more sleep and to be in my pajamas more (this bit is to aid my mental health as I am happiest in my pjs).

Just so we are clear this is a separate issue from Duvet day, which I would still like to see implemented (I give you to the end of the week) and is, in fact, even more serious and certainly requires an additional day off a week (so two days, don’t try and get out of this on a loophole). This day shall be called a day to read. Simple but effective and no-one can be in any doubt as to what they are supposed to do. If there is anyone who can’t read (animals, children) or don’t want to (yes these people exist!) then they must amuse themselves and leave all the readers alone to read in peace/naked/on the toilet/by a window.

In return I can promise you that I will be a lot happier, more cultured, more intelligent and a generally nicer human being, which I can assure you will benefit you and all of the other people around me. I also have an awesome ring watch that you can have.

It’s vintage.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thebiggestsmile / Jun 27 2013 5:45 pm

    I can think of a few more days that could be added as well!

    • ljbradburn / Jun 30 2013 4:51 pm

      hehe! Any suggestions are welcome 😉 Hmmm maybe we should start a petition to really get our point across 🙂

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

