Skip to content
April 26, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Bookerview

HITACHI HDC-1499E

Welcome to Rachel Clarke’s Bookerview. She is the author of the wonderful Falling Through the World and I am very honoured to have her here. Enjoy!

What was the feeling like when you saw your book in print for the first time?
R: Terror! I could only think, ‘What have I done?’ and hide under my duvet. Then I did a little victory dance with an insane smile plastered across my face before diving back under the duvet to hide again 😉

If you had to eat one book what would it be?
R: No contest – any from the British Bake Off series. Oh, no, actually, an old cookbook I used as a child which smells of fudge when you open it on the right page. Mmmm fudge…

What is your favourite book? (You can say yours!)
R: Well, obviously mine’s the most spectacular book ever written but so people don’t think I’m too big headed, I’ll go for ‘On Green Dolphin Street’ by Sebastian Faulks (the guy who wrote ‘Birdsong’). It just describes so intensely and vividly the little gestures which make you fall in love with someone. For example, the flick of a wrist as someone looks at their watch, the sort of everyday action that, in the right circumstances, can make you catch your breath and look at someone anew as another being you want to get close to.

If you were going to a desert Island for a year which 2 books would you take and why?
R: I could work my way through an incredibly dull 1000 page book a friend once gave me so as to save myself the embarrassment of having to admit I haven’t read it yet AGAIN! I think I’d also take Pride and Prejudice. I didn’t read it until my early 20s because I thought it would just be twee costume drama fare but I couldn’t believe how witty and fresh it was. It never fails to make me laugh however many times I read it.

Would you rather never read again or never brush your hair again?
R: Easy! Never brush my hair. I gave up on it years ago, anyway!

Do you prefer the smell of old or new books?
R: Personally I prefer books without a B.O. problem but if I had to choose, it’d be old. I hate that synthetic smell new books have.

Which fictional character would you get on best with and why?
R: Hermione Granger because she always makes me laugh. I’d have to bring up the issue of Ron, though. I mean, what does she see in him? Then she’d probably turn me into a slug or something so the friendship might not last that long.

Pudding or books?
R: Now you’re just being cruel! I suppose it would have to be books but it’d be a close call

If you had a dinner party which 3 authors would you invite and why?
R: Mary Wollstonecraft (Mary Shelley’s mother). She wrote this ridiculously radical book about women and sexuality way back in the 1790s. I’d love to pit her against a sexist dinosaur like DH Lawrence and watch the sparks fly. Then I’d invite Jane Austen to make witty little asides about the action.

What’s your favourite reading place?
R: Bed. You can curl up and relax there and lose yourself completely.

Which part of your book did you write first?
R: I hate to be boring but it was the first chapter. It’s massively different from how it is now though. That first attempt was so rubbish but you have to start somewhere and I just thought if I got something, ANYTHING, down on paper, I could go from there.

Finish the sentence “I heart books because…”
R:…they take me places I can’t go on my own.”

Would you rather visit Narnia, Hogwarts or middle earth?
R: Hogwarts! I always liked the sound of butter beer and that sweet shop – what was it called? But I’d probably need some magic powers to protect myself. I don’t know if you’ve noticed but it’s not exactly a safe place to hang around! My decision would be entirely based around sweet foods and beverages, though! Hang on! They had Turkish Delight in Narnia. Now I’m torn…

How many books does it take to change a light bulb?
R: Depends on the height of the ceiling. I’m guessing they’d have to stack one on top of the other to reach it, you see. So ceiling height divided by thickness of books plus the instruction manual. I think that’s the agreed formula.

Have you got a question for me?
R: Yes, books or potatoes? Yes, I am still sore about the whole pudding issue…
Haha, I guess I deserved that one! Hmmmmm, on the one hand I need potatoes to live (especially being half-Irish and all) but on the other hand I need books to survive. It’s going to have to be books and I’ll just have to eat a lot of bread instead!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. fallingthroughtheworld / May 1 2013 12:58 pm

    What if I take bread away too?

    • ljbradburn / May 2 2013 12:21 pm

      I think suicide would be the only option! I would grab all the books and bread I could and jump off a cliff 😉 x

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

WRITER★EDITER★PRODUCER★CONSULTANT

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

