Skip to content
April 22, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

Top 10 favourite sayings/phrases/insults

Chish and Fips

1. Big Girl’s Blouse – admittedly this may seem like a strange choice. Unless you know my dad. I have been called a big girl’s blouse many times, in my life, and although it is not always appreciated at the time it has come to feel like an affectionate term, sort of like a not too painful kick up the bum.

2. Get a grip – I can’t help but love this phrase so it is the best thing to say to me if I am crying/moaning/talking too much as it always makes me stop and smile, giving my poor victim’s ears a rest! This is also a favourite of my dad’s – anyone would think that I annoy him!

3. It’s about as much use as a chocolate teapot – I don’t like tea or even teapots, in particular, but I bet I would like a chocolate one a lot more than a regular one, regardless of how much use it was to some people. I think a lot of chocolate is very useful, whatever shape it is and the further away from tea it is the better!

4. Pot calling the Kettle black – I say this quite often inside my head and sometimes outside of my head too. I think it is quite a regular occurrence for people (myself included :-/) to complain about faults they see in others without taking the time to look within. I also like to imagine a little kettle and a pot having an argument, in my kitchen, because I think it would be cute if they could talk! Who do you think would win if it came down to a fight?

5. No pain, no gain – this is what I repeat over and over to myself when I am wearing beautiful high heels that really bloody hurt! (This doesn’t stop me from taking them off and walking barefoot but at least I try!).

6. Innocent until proven guilty – just generally good advice, in my opinion! People can be too suspicious, too quick to judge and can forget about the individuals swept away in the sea of gossip and accusation.

7. All clouds bring not rain – perfect as it appeals to my hippy side (clouds) and looking on the bright side and finding the good, even if it requires a bit more searching. Obviously rain is important too (although I did once hear someone in a restaurant claim, quite adamantly, that it wasn’t necessary for the survival of our world) just as feeling sad can be valuable, especially if you try to recognise that it as getting you to a better place.

8. Make love not war – LOVE = happiness, fun, liberation, expression, warmth and fuzziness. WAR = devastation, harm, control, trauma, murder.

9. All good things come in small packages – it makes me feel good about being short (although I’m still not convinced that I could fit in to a small package) and I would love a diamond ring one day (NOW please – hint hint ;-)) which I also hear usually comes in a rather small package.

10. Let’s make like a tampon and get out of this bloody hole! – I’m sorry to lower the tone but it is very funny and sometimes you just can’t beat vulgar toilet humour (please still follow my blog ;-))

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

