Skip to content
March 1, 2013 / ljbradburn-Smith

That’s right, i’m a Harry Potter lover!

wpid-20130302_122741-1.jpg

It’s probably about time I confessed my all-consuming love for Mr Potter. My love for the Harry Potter series is second only to that for a select few people in my life and I’m only half-joking. If I could rewind back time to when I was 11 years old and attend Hogwarts I would in an instant. I feel it goes without saying (but I’ll say it anyway) that J.K has created a magnificent world full of wonderfully wonderful wonder. Her talent surely lies in creating a world both magical and realistic at the same time. Every character she creates is full of life and she leaves no philosopher’s stone unturned in terms of interesting themes. The books have got love, evil, temptation, innocence, magic, strained families, alcoholism (Prof Trelawney), betrayal, flying (who hasn’t dreamt of flying), class issues, magic sweets and perhaps best of all dragons.

I first read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone when it still had an age 11-13 recommendation on the cover and was instantly hooked. When I reached the third book (Prisoner of Azkaban) I was even more addicted and it continued from there with only a slight (slight) low point in book five (Order of the Phoenix) when Harry turns in to a moany bugger. I have seen, first hand, these books turn non-readers in to literature lovers and that is a massive accomplishment in my eyes. The only thing I wish is that a law had been passed that stated that the series could never end or that every time I read a Harry Potter book I could choose to wipe it from my memory so I can read it all again for the first time.

So given all that, take this as a fair warning that you can expect to hear more from me on the subject.

(P.S I might as well also mention that I have all the audio version books on my computer, iPod and my phone, that I have been to the studios and I will go again (soon), that I am going to America in the Summer (mainly to visit Harry Potter world) and that I have a replica Marauder’s map, a HP chest of the films, all the extra books and a wand collection)

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sunsetpink / Mar 1 2013 11:36 am

    I love your post! I feel exactly the same way about Harry Potter, I love it so much! And by the way, I’m so jealous of your collection. This is my favorite edition!

    • ljbradburn / Mar 1 2013 1:31 pm

      Thank you very much for your comment, it’s always good to share the Harry Potter love and i’m glad you enjoyed my post too 🙂 x

  2. Jeyna Grace / Mar 1 2013 2:29 pm

    You have so many awesome potter stuff, I’m jealous!

    • ljbradburn / Mar 1 2013 3:03 pm

      Thanks 🙂 I think I’m going to need to take an empty suitcase to America to fit everything in that I buy from HP World because I know i’ll want everything, hehe! 😉 x

  3. fallingthroughtheworld / Mar 1 2013 9:10 pm

    I LOVE Harry Potter too and even have lots of different cover versions for the different artwork and Stephen Fry reading them rules!

Trackbacks

  1. The Fault in Our Stars | My Feather Quill

Leave a Reply

Sara's Book Blog

“Reading brings us unknown friends.” — Honoré de Balzac

Chris Martin Writes

Life, Literature, Loves, Lydia

Books and Messy Buns

"Read the things they say are good for you, and the things they claim are junk. You’ll find what you need to find. Just read.”

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

KURT★BRINDLEY

writing ★ producing ★ editing

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

A Frank Angle

Thoughts from the Inner Mind

Book Club Mom

Read this, not that!

aliisaacstoryteller

guardian of irish mythology

Get Me Ink and Paper!

Living a Creative Life

BigFatMarathon

21 stone to 12 stone to 26.2 miles. Totally doable.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

virginuis

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Handle your rOCD

I Welcome You Into My World To Catch An Anxiety-Free Nap. :) However, do give a read before falling prey to a peaceful nap!

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

Erin E. M. Hatton

Author of Across the Deep, Otherworld, and To Woo a Lady

BEER IS YOUR FRIEND

2016 AIBA Beer Writer of the Year

Mysterious Heartland

A Celebration of Midwestern Curiosities

